Premio Ferrari 2018
International Fortepiano Masterclass

Rovereto – Ala (Italy), December 12 -16 2018


Teachers and Jurors

Jörg DEMUS (Austria)

Arthur SCHOONDERWOERD (Netherlands)

Temenuschka VESSELINOVA (Italy)

Romano VETTORI (Italy)



The Premio Ferrari 2018 is dedicated to early piano solo music and (optionally) chamber music with early piano (duo,trio, quartet). It consists of three masterclasses:

A: Masterclass Temenuschka Vesselinova (soloists)

Two keyboard compositions chosen from works  by J. S. Bach – C. Ph. E. Bach and J. N. Hummel – W.A. Mozart – F. J. Haydn – M. Clementi –  G.G. Ferrari*

* For Ferrari’s pieces see Scores-page on


B: Masterclass Arthur Schoonderwoerd (soloists and chamber music)

A solo piano piece, or duo, or trio, or quartet with piano chosen from the period 1770-1825*

* For Ferrari’s pieces see Scores-page on


C: Masterclass Jörg Demus (soloists and chamber music)

Free choice of repertoire (period 1770-1825)


The Premio Ferrari 2018 is open to all musicians born after December 8 1984.

The artistic direction will admit a maximum of 3 ensembles with piano and 4 solo pianists, according to the following criteria:

evaluation of an audio/video demo, curriculum vitae and (with the same evaluation) registration order.

The solo-pianists admitted must compulsorily participate in all three masterclasses.


The Premio Ferrari will take place from Wednesday 12 to Sunday 16 December 2018:

  • December 12 – Ala (Tn) Pizzini Palace
    • 5.30pm: registration of participants
    • 6pm: opening meeting of the Masterclasses Schoonderwoerd – Vesselinova
  • December 13- Ala (Tn) Pizzini Palace
    • 10am – 6pm: Masterclasses Schoonderwoerd – Vesselinova
  • December 14 – Ala (Tn) Pizzini Palace
    • 9am -12am: Masterclass Schoonderwoerd
    • 2.30pm-5.30pm: Masterclass Demus
  • December 15 – Ala (Tn) Pizzini Palace
    • 10am – 6pm: Masterclasses Schoonderwoerd – Vesselinova
  • December 16 – Rovereto
    • 10am-2pm: Sala Filarmonica: acoustic rehearsals
    • 4pm: Sala Filarmonica – Final Concert
    • 7pm: Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio – Prizes Award Ceremony


The best participants in the master classes will perform at the Final Concert on Sunday 16 December. The jury formed by the teachers and the artistic direction of the Prize, and the audience present at the concert will assign:

  • Ferrari educational Award 2018 – € 700
  • Special Award “Museo del Pianoforte Antico” € 500
  • Special Audience Award “Rovereto Città della Pace” € 200

The Jury may decide not to assign one or more prizes.


Registration  must be made exclusively by filling in the online form available on  by 8 December 2018

By same date, the Candidate must fill out the block text and send  the following documents by the Application Form:

  • Audio/video demo (wav,mp3, mp4, mov, Youtube format – max 7’)
  • The programme choice for all three Masterclasses
  • Curriculum vitae (max 10 lines)
  • An artistic photo (jpg format)
  • Scan of the registration fee receipt (in jpg or pdf format)
  • Scan of the identity card or passport (in jpg or pdf format)
  • All the scores (in pdf format) of the submitted programme

Multimedia materials (audio-video and photos) and scores must be sent exclusively in electronic format (files) OR by filling in the corresponding boxes with external links (URL) in the Application Form on the website


A registration fee of 50,00 EUR per participant must be sent to the Organising Secretariat via bank transfer to the following account:

Account holder: Accademia di Musica Antica – Piazza San Marco, 7 – 38068 Rovereto TN – Italy
bank name: Cassa Rurale di Rovereto
IBAN: IT47 G082 1020 8000 0003 0207 953

The registration fee will not be reimbursed in case of withdrawal.



The deadline for the submission of the application files (see 5.) and for the payment of the registration fee (see 6.) is 8 December 2018.


The scores for all music must be sent by 8 December 2018 by filling in the Application form.

The scores by Giacomo Gotifredo Ferrari can be downloaded from the Premio Ferrari’s website


The following instruments will be at the disposal of the participants for the masterclasses:

  • One fortepiano copy of G. Silbermann (Pitch A=415)
  • One 5-octaves (F-F) fortepiano copy of J.A. Stein (Pitch A=430)
  • One 5½-octaves (F-C) fortepiano copy of A. Walter (Pitch A=430)

During the masterclasses the original instruments of the Museo del Pianoforte Antico will be illustrated and can be played by the participants.



On the 16 December the organization will provide transfers from Ala to Rovereto.

Other information about accomodation in Ala and Rovereto and nearby towns and villages can be retrived by visiting the following Websites:



All participants accept the present regulation.

There is no appeal against the decisions of the Jury.

The organisation may decide to make minor changes to the present regulation without prior notice.

The Rovereto Court of Law will be competent for any legal controversy.



The organising secretariat is at the competitors’ disposal for any further information:

Accademia di Musica Antica
Piazza San Marco, 7
38068 ROVERETO, TN (Italy)
+39 328 7906264